For John Hinds, coaching was all about three things: character building, dedication, and excellence.

The success of his teams was a by-product of the hard work put in by Coach Hinds, his assistant coaches, and his team members.  He welcomed any young man who wanted to participate and never cut a gymnast from the team.  However, for those who excelled and worked according to his high standards, he gave all he had to give for their success.  The result was 13 state championships in the short 17 years of IHSAA competition in men’s gymnastics.  In the four years Coach Hinds’ teams did not win the state championship, they finished as state runner-up three times and finished third the other year.  Coach Hinds supported 47 individual state champions while building a legacy of excellence, humility, and achievement for the sport of gymnastics at Columbus High School / Columbus North High School.

This Bull Dog Alumni Association Award is presented annually to an outstanding Columbus North High School senior athlete in good standing who has maintained at least a 3.0 GPA (4.0 scale) and who plans to attend an accredited two-year or four-year college pursuing any major — with preference for a gymnast and/or a student intending to major in Education.  A one-time $500 or $1000 scholarship goes along with this prestigious award.  Nominations for this award will come from coaches, faculty, or administrators; and the final recipient will be selected by the John Hinds Tradition of Excellence Selection Committee.  The committee will consider additional criteria including that the student-athlete has demonstrated high moral character, exemplary sportsmanship, dedication to his / her sport, and an outstanding work ethic.

From time-to-time, based on needs and resources available, the John Hinds Tradition of Excellence Selection Committee may also choose to provide grants to athletic or academic teams or programs that demonstrate Coach Hinds’ Tradition of Excellence.

Scholarship Recipients:

  • 2018     Claire Thompson
  • 2020     Grace Ellis
  • 2022     Emily Moore
  • 2023     Lindsey Mullis